SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT & JAIL
Handgun Licensing - Indiana
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Effective July 1, 2020...
...the five-year license to carry a handgun (LTCH) will become fee exempt, per IC 35-47-2-4. The five-year and lifetime LTCH may be applied for and held concurrently.
The five-year LTCH will NOT qualify as an alternative to the NICS background check requirement. The language is in place in the statute to create the groundwork needed for the NICS exemption however the NICS check is governed Federally. Only the ATF can certify the five-year LTCH to qualify as an alternative to the NICS requirements. Currently there is no additional information on if or when the Indiana five-year LTCH may become an alternative to the NICS background check.
HANDGUN LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS - INDIANA
Note: After you complete Step 1, you will have only 90 days to complete Steps 2 and 3. Once all steps are completed, your application will be electronically transmitted to ISP for final review.
If your aplication is approved, your permit will be sent to you via U.S. Mail.
If your application is rejected, you will be notified via U.S. Mail and will receive instructions on how to file an appeal. (in.gov/isp/2831)
Step 1: Complete a Handgun License Application online at the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal: firearms.ariesportal.com
Step 2: Schedule an appointment to submit your fingerprints electronically at a location convenient to you. Fingerprints for gun permits are no longer done at the Sheriff's Office. in.ibtfingerprint.com
Step 3: Complete the final step in the application process within 90 days.
Hours: Monday-Friday bring your Handgun License Application Number, State Issued Photo ID and Local fee payment
Persons appying for a gun permit must reside in rural Benton County.
Any persons living within a city or town limit must apply with their local police department.
Wait at least 48 hours after your fingerprint session has been completed before contacting the Sheriff's Office. you should receive an email from IndentoGo that your fingerprints are attached and ready.
Note: Your application WILL EXPIRE 90 days after you submit the application online. If your application expires, you must update your status by signing in to the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal and following the prompts for duplicate/status update. firearms.ariesportal.com/?login
Local Fee- Cash, Check, or Money Order
State Fee- pay online to the State of Indiana
Fingerprint Fee- Pay online directly to IndentoGo
Refunds- Some portions of the application fee are refundable if the application is denied. The entire state fee is refundable if no license if issued. View the licensing fees for more information.
105 S Lincoln Avenue
Fowler, IN 47944
IN CASE OF EMERGENCY CALL 911
Option 1: for the jail
Option 2: admin/dispatch
Monday - Friday
8:30 am to 4:00 pm EST
Closed on major holidays