Benton County is governed by a host of elected officials representing both the County and the incorporated towns. Fowler has served as the county seat and home of the courthouse, since 1874.

The County’s primary governing bodies are the County Council (legislative branch) and the County Commissioners (executive branch). These two groups consist of elected officials representing all demographic areas of the County. Various other elected officials and their staff carry out the remaining roles of County government.

Our incorporated towns are each governed by a team of residents elected to serve on the Town Council. The daily operations of each Town are carried out by the Town Clerk’s office and other town employees.

Additionally, each of the eleven townships in Benton County elects a Trustee and Advisory Board primarily to ensure emergency protection and relief to the poor.

Benton County State and Federal Government Representatives:
Indiana House of Representatives District 13
Sharon Negele (R)
State Representative
200 W Washington St.
Indianapolis, In. 46204
(800) 382-9841

Indiana Senate District 6
Rick Niemeyer 
Senate Office, Indiana Statehouse
200 W Washington St.
Indianapolis, In. 46204
(800) 382-9467

United States Senate
Joe Donnelly (D)
SR-B33 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington DC 20510
(202) 224-4814

United States Senate
Daniel Coats (R)
B-40E Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington DC 20510
(800) 482-2182

United States House of Representatives District 4
Todd Rokita (R)
1717 Longworth House
House Office Building
Washington DC 20515
(202) 225-5037